Jason Segel

October 10, 2009 at 8:10 pm 2 comments

Sorry, I’m a day late on this one.  So, everyone who has ever met me knows that the way to my heart is through maximum hilarity at all times.  My favorite Hollywood funny-man is none other than Mr. Jason Segel, probably best known for his roles in Forgetting Sarah Marshall and I Love You, Man. He doesn’t play his characters with the slapstick humor and poop jokes so common with comedians like Adam Sandler or Will Ferrel, but with a self-awareness that is both endearing and believable.  Plus, he LOVES puppets.  In a recent interview, he was asked if he had a “man cave” in his own home – a place where no woman dares tread.  His response?  “It’s filled with puppets.  And I keep wondering why I don’t have a girlfriend.  I’m like, ‘Hey, this is my house; come check it out.  These are my forty puppets.’  …I think I have a bit of a reputation for being weird for that.” 

There are so many truly embarrassing things that I could type here about my enormous celebrity crush on this man, but I think I’d rather come at this from a metacognitive angle, here.  I have an enormous celebrity crush on him because of his accessibility as a performer.  He writes (or co-writes) nearly project wherein he’s been featured.  Most of the script of Forgetting Sarah Marshall is composed of actual things that have happened to him in his love life – including the nude break-up scene.  The Dracula musical at the end was actually a big dream come true for him, because he had really written it, and wanted to perform it for years.  Though, his musical originally wasn’t an irony; Judd Apatow made him tweak the material for a fluid tone in the film.  HE TOOK DRACULA PUPPETS SO SERIOUSLY THAT HE WROTE AN ENTIRE DRAMATIC MUSICAL PRODUCTION ABOUT THEM.  There really is something to be said about a man with dedication to his craft.

Also, he totally has bestie guy friends!  He and (dreeeeamy) Paul Rudd have been friends for years, and working on I Love You, Man together was apparently a dream come true for them.  And also for me, because that film was a real treat.  So much to drool over, so little time.  Take a look at this clip of them doing an interview together – so charming.

Tell me that you did not just fall in love with the Puppet Master.  You can’t.  I’ll stop blabbering on now, but I will leave you with this.  Whether or not he is dating Lindsay Lohan or Chloe Sevigny, he is still a super hottie, who seems really fun and normal in real life.

Entry filed under: Emma, Skeet Skeet. Tags: , , .

Rupert Grint Photos par Katia

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emma  |  October 10, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Also, am I the only person in the world who desperately wants there to be a “u” in the word “forty”?

    Reply
  • 2. alisaurus  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:35 am

    i never found him very attractive but all this puppet talk is really selling it. and i meant that sincerely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


