This is as fun as me slamming my head into a desk

June 5, 2009 at 12:04 pm 6 comments

Its gets really confusing how many jobs I’m applying to because I’m applying every day and I’m finding these links online and I really have to keep organized like make a checklist of what I’m applying to and who I’ve heard back from. So far, I really haven’t heard back from anybody. So I guess its their own fault that they’re not cool enough for me. So, uloop has really bad options. I think the career link website is pretty good for graduating Tisch students. I’m going to look into that a lot more.

The center for career development is pretty good in general but its not really film and media orientated. I still wanted to be a voice narrator for audible.com. 

I’m not going to forget about that!

Don’t let me forget about that!

Websites like findcareers.com are really just not where I’m looking to go.

I really have to read job descriptions before I sent out cover letters. I don’t know if these jobs have already been taken. So is it really worth my time to write a cover letter and get an email back saying OH sorry we already found someone for this job. I don’t know but these are all things you need to think about in the great WEB of job searching.

 

Let’s look at the statistic for employment rate of BAF.

The nation’s unemployment rate climbed to a 4 year high of 5.7 percent as employers cut 51,000 jobs dashing the hopes of the influx of youth people looking for summer work.

Oh that won’t be me!!!  I tell myself… but looks like it might be.

Entry filed under: Katie, Miscellaneous Musings, Trash Talk. Tags: , , .

This Gay Marriage Business “Hey, Dr. Helwig. Sorry, I won’t be able to make it to my orthodontist appointment today. I’m in…Cuba.”

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A Bailes  |  June 5, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Yeah. Times suck. I actually almost got fired the other day (not just me but my whole “division”). I had to wait till Wednesday to see if I still had a job. Turns out I do, but only guaranteed 3 months. After that my job depends on whether the economy got better or not. Hear that Olivia? Come September I might just have to talk to your pops about that job in D.C.

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  June 5, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Have you checked Mandy.com? They have a ton of production related jobs listed, and there are usually at least a half dozen to a dozen new listings every day. The market is terrible so it’s super-competitive right now, but that’s how I wound up here.

    Good luck to both of you guys. Times are TOUGH.

    Reply
  • 3. carbybarbie  |  June 6, 2009 at 11:41 am

    my grandfather said something incredibly insulting yesterday.
    “Are you going to collect unemployment relief?”

    So so irritating to heat that.

    Reply
    • 4. Betty  |  June 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm

      I don’t see how that’s insulting. Tons of people are collecting unemployment. It’s the difference between paying bills and living on the street for them. It doesn’t mean you, or anyone, isn’t qualified for a job. In a lot of cases, the jobs just aren’t there. What’s your objection?

      Reply
  • 5. alisaurus  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Whatever happened with NYFA??

    Reply
  • 6. carbybarbie  |  June 11, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    I applied as a TA still haven’t heard from them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


