field trip to the aftermath of obliteration of eternity.

May 9, 2009 at 11:12 pm 7 comments

 

Betty and I meet up at reservoir, the old man’s pub, on cinco de mayo to check on each other. We both had stiff drinks and woke up hung-over the next morning.

Whilst, au pub, Betty put me on a mission on my day-off (which, scary as it is- is starting to look like everyday). She sent me to the Gagosian Gallery to see an exhibit by Yayoi Kusama, who has work showing from April 16 to June 27th. (Yayoi is a female, by the way)

Betty told me that the address was 555 w 24th street, which is all the way in the west part of Chelsea. At first I wasn’t going to go because I figured I should be applying for jobs.

But I thought since I told Betty I would go, I should so I went.

 I took the 1 train and walked a couple of avenues.

 

 

This thing is a room, devoid of light, surrounded by black water and mirrors reflecting gold lights.

What do you want to do know?

I took this image with a manual setting, and the shutter speed is really slow.

It is called “the aftermath of obliteration of eternity”,

Its review on the website puts it best by describing it as- “simple yet ingenious optical device”, “Infinity room”,” shivering mirage”, “golden silence” (like a good pee), and 

“Spirited emanations”.

I get inside and am pretty much startled that I don’t have to pay anything.

I look to the left and I see a room with a huge blow up plastic pumpkin in it. This, mind you, is not a normal American pumpkin, something more macabre like a horror gourd.

I take a picture and here’s the picture. The pumpkin represents her alter ego and is a self-portrait.

I continue walking and there’s another room with huge paintings full of colors and their opposites, like hot pink neon and greens. Within the painting are shapes of eyes and little ellipses. I could have had a seizure.

Kusama produced her first huge painting in the late 50s, “often skipping meals and sleep in her instant drive to cover the canvas with tracts of small, thickly painted loops.”

From these, one receives instant psychosomatic associations.

Kusama was born in Japan in 1929. She’s an old motherfucker. She lives and works in Tokyo.

Big on the Japanese themes recently, we are.

The most beautiful thing is the “aftermath of obliteration of eternity”.

The guard says: “oh want to see magic?”

Some dudes interrupted my reflection inside the room..

“ Yeah, rad, this is really cool man .”

Entry filed under: Katie, Miscellaneous Musings, You Know What Really G's My G?. Tags: , .

Kal Penn 30 Days of Raw

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  May 10, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I went to see this yesterday! It is really cool. I love especially how the room itself is just this box- when you’re waiting in line you can clearly see the walls and ceiling of the room you’re about to go into, so the feeling of ‘infinity’ is even more pronounced.

    I liked her other paintings too- the grey/black/white one looked like cellular patterns or molecules, and the pink and green one was so bright I felt my pupils dilating.

    Reply
  • 2. parkrangerolivia  |  May 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    fucking sweet, bro

    Reply
  • 3. A Bailes  |  May 10, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    My abuelita is in town from El Salvador for my graduation and I wanted a place I could show her that was free and awesome. So now I know where to take her!
    Gracias Katie!

    Reply
  • 4. parkrangerolivia  |  May 10, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    bailey can i meet your fam?? las mujeres fuertes??

    Reply
  • 5. A Bailes  |  May 11, 2009 at 12:26 am

    claro que si!

    Reply
  • 6. Gryfino  |  May 15, 2009 at 5:55 am

    It’s weird that they let you take pics. Whenever I visit some nice museum or exhibition I always hear the same line “please put that camera back in the bag!”

    Reply
  • […] "Aftermath of Obliteration of Eternity" by Yayoi Kusama (New York: Gagosian Gallery, April 16 – June 27, 2009).Image credit: Googly-Eyes – field trip to the aftermath of obliteration of eternity. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


