Talking Sex With Mom & Dad

April 13, 2009 at 10:30 pm 4 comments

Yes, I know this is a show on MTV. Yes I think it’s horrifying (especially since the title of the show is just, “Sex With Mom & Dad” to increase shock/gross factor.)

Anyway, for Christmas this past year I gave my Dad Superbad on DVD, because I thought it was really funny and he’d enjoy it. I thought my Mom was mature enough to enjoy it too, but she described it to me as being “disgusting, crude,” blah blah blah and seemed to get all offended by the excessive boner talk in the beginning especially. What a bummer.

I think being open is an important step in forging and maintaining a close relationship with people, especially family. While by no means do I talk to my parents about my personal sex life (nor do I wish to) I don’t think sexuality in general is anything to be hidden or ashamed about, and should be discussed freely in broad terms.

Women’s health, reproductive rights, safe sexuality, etc are all really important topics, and I feel like in this day and age, it’s not only important but necessary to be able to discuss these things with women in your family. How else will girls become educated, informed, and open-minded about these topics if they are  constantly swept under the rug like some kind of dirty family secret?

But, let me re-iterate: these are important topics in general, NOT something I’d want to discuss in specific relation to my life. For instance, I was out at dinner with my parents the other night and telling them how I have a lot of guy friends. To which my Dad responded, “Well, don’t they want to have sex with you?” How horrifying. I tried to pretend like this question wasn’t utterly inappropriate and weird, and continued coolly with an affirmative and certain, “No. No they don’t.” Yikes. I couldn’t let on that this was completely uncool because I may be responsible for opening that can of worms with a movie like Superbad, and I didn’t want to be a hyprocrite and discourage the sort of openness that I so often advocated.

I wonder if my desire to have an open feminine relationship with my Mom has given my Dad an undeserved and unwanted green-light to talk to me like one of the guys. As badly as I may want to be free, open, and bromantic, that’s not the sort of relationship I want to encourage with my father. Anyone have a similar, horrible story about sex in the wrong context with family members? Or am I just being uptight and immature?

Entry filed under: Alison, Sex Sex Sex. Tags: , , .

Greg Gillis Paul Walker: The Anti-Skeet

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tom  |  April 14, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Once I was running an errand with my mom and as we were pulling out of a parking lot, apropos to nothing, she said to me, “I want you to know, if you ever get a girl pregnant, just give me the baby and I’ll raise it myself”

    I was kinda…stunned and told her that was really really unlikely. I was 15. Thanks mom.

    Reply
  • 2. Olivia  |  April 14, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    AHAHAHAhaha…poor Tom.

    As you guys already know, I will never have this problem with my parents.

    Reply
  • 3. Tom  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    OH YEAH! I think she misinterpreted my mortified teenagerness because the next week, again, pulling out of a parking lot, “Tom… I want you to know…it is ok for you to be gay.”

    Once I recovered from dieing of shame I decided never to help mom with the groceries ever again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


