I Love You, Man

March 23, 2009 at 12:37 am 3 comments

i_love_you_man

What happens when Judd Apatow is too busy with his own films to take on another? The result is a planned script that tries to haphazardly include improvised jokes. These stand-alone incidents are, sadly, what carries the film of this connect-the-dots plot. Like dancing around a baseball diamond, “I Love You, Man” is more of an exercise in awkward, unscripted moments than cohesive filmmaking.

First, let’s get one thing clear. This story is about Peter Klaven (Paul Rudd) who grew up in a family that moved around a lot. As a result, he’s never really had a best friend (even though he’s like 35 now…?) Now that it’s time to jump the broom, he can’t find a best man.

PROBLEM: Andy Samberg, the hilarious straight/gay bodylifting brother of Paul in the film is more than available. In fact, Andy’s character goes so far as to give him advice on just how to attain a guy friend. Why the fuck doesn’t Peter just choose his brother as the best man? Problem solved… and now this tactless movie doesn’t need to be made!

Don’t get me wrong, the movie had some very, VERY funny moments. But when it tried to get back to this stupid, inane plot of Paul trying to find a best man, it just went downhill. Plus, I fucking hate Jason Segel.

Ugh.

I digress. Maybe it’s because I’m a film snob that’s learned the ins and outs of how movies are made that I thoroughly disliked this film. My Dad seemed to thoroughly enjoy his movie, despite the conversations about having sex on your period, giving blow jobs, and going down on your woman on a regular basis. Yeah, that made the outing excruciatingly awkward for me and my little sister. At least he laughed a lot… for the both of us.

The worst part, and I feel terrible for saying this, is Paul Rudd’s performance. While everyone else in the movie seems to be having a good time playing their parts, Paul is the only schmuck on screen trying to actually earn his paycheck. His performance was so earnest I cringed the whole way through. Jason Siegel, I suspect, couldn’t have cared less, and his performance was standard and expected. But come on, Paul! You disappointed me. I really don’t know what else to say. Except that if you’re going to see this movie, you should rent it, for a party, where other people will be talking loudly. Lose some brain-cells on the “play” button below.

Entry filed under: Movie Meteorology, Olivia. Tags: , , , .

“Oasis,” Amanda Palmer Packing Plastic

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  March 23, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Maybe it’s my Freaks and Geeks related love of Jason Segel, but I thought the trailer looked pretty cute. I probably wouldn’t pay money to see it, but it looks better than 90% of comedies getting made.

    Reply
  • 2. neekaps  |  March 23, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    this is exactly the type of movie I avoid.

    Reply
  • 3. parkrangerolivia  |  March 23, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    It’s like a 2-hour lobotomy for the price of $12.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

