Researching crazy outfits leads to cross media pollination

March 13, 2009 at 12:52 pm 5 comments

PCD and sasha

PCD and sasha

The girl on the left wearing the beautiful, red half-sari  with jeans,  high brown boots,  and big brown glasses is  Nicole Scherzinger, Pussy Cat Doll. For me, this outfit seems a little bizarre to wear at least publicly in the US but I think the concept is pretty radical. I support the entrance of a new wave  of Indian garb  meets western wear. This outfit is one of the first I’ve seen which matches that description (with the exception of Gwen Stefani in the 90s).

The picture of Scherzinger  was taken at the Jimmy Fallon show at NBC studios on March 10th. 

All dolls wore uniquely Indian style outfits to the event  in honor of the release of their new single – an English remix of A.R Rahman’s (Oscar winner of Slumdog Millionaire) “Jai Ho”. 

The P Dolls recently shot a video of this sinlge in Vienna with DOP Thomas Kloss. Kloss also shot Britney’s Spears “Circus” as well as one of my personal favorites Marilyn Manson’s “mobscene”. 

The second  photo  is a shot of Beyonce as she is seen in the spotlight filming a promotional video for “I am”. The sequined gold of the dress is simply a gorgeous material but the cut is very awkward. It looks like she’s wearing hip risers. The fit goes too far in accentuating her pelvic region, sizing her up as a silly kind of wonder woman. If she is,  in fact, wearing hip pads, that might  be something worth talking about…

Entry filed under: Fucking Crazy, Katie, The Celebrity Store, Trash Talk.

Peaches: Shit, I Miss Summer If U Seek Amy

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  March 13, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    If there wasn’t so much visible underwear in the first one I think I’d like it more. I love the bright colors and ornate details though. The bare midriff feels kind of 2000, you know? It’s so early Britney.

    I think I actually really like Beyonce’s outfit. It does make her hips look crazy, but it reminds me of like, futuristic 1950s cocktail waitress type dresses. I just wish she looked like she was having fun!

    Reply
  • 2. parkrangerolivia  |  March 13, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Man, I don’t know if I like either outfit. What’s next, wearing hajib’s for bad hair days? I guess I’m all for cultural cross pollination if it’s done with respect, but I doubt miss pussycat even knows what the jewel on her forehead represents.

    Beyonce literally looks like a robot straight out of Fritz Lang’s “Metropolis”. like “we need to show its a GIRL robot. so make sure it has hips. lots of them.”

    Reply
  • 3. neekaps  |  March 13, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    hahah that’s a good description!

    Reply
  • 4. alisaurus  |  March 14, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    olivia – my thoughts exactly on beyonce. i don’t dig. she has an intentional and freakishly massive muffin top. but hey, maybe that would be great if muffin tops became fashionable…. goodbye gym!

    Reply
  • 5. TG  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:15 am

    The sight of Beyonce’s hips in that dress actually made me gasp.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


