This Shit is Wack

February 20, 2009 at 2:09 am 3 comments

So I’m totally lifting this story from Jezebel, but it’s news, and I feel it’s important enough to spread and get other people outraged about.

This is a video of Hope Steffey being attacked and assaulted by police officers, who she called because she had been assaulted. She is forcefully strip searched without being told why, by male and female officers, who allegedly never even requested for her to take off her clothes before becoming borderline violent. Even if they had asked her to, why?? The officers involved claim they became “confused” when arriving on the scene, and mistook Hope for the attacker. Confused?!? About what?! How?! Did they think a woman called the cops because she was assaulting herself? And if you’re not sure who to arrest, you probably shouldn’t start by beating up the first person you see when you walk in the door.

This is the definition of a dangerously incompetent, bumbling law enforcement agency – a woman calls them for help and instead of arresting her attacker, they beat her up, stuff her in a squad car, and then sexually assault her. 

WARNING: The video is kind of upsetting. Actually it’s infuriating.

The Steffey family is suing the sheriff’s department for the whole incident, and rightly so. The police are supposed to help people, not perpetrate crimes, break their own rules, and humiliate citizens they’re meant to protect. According to this article, the icing on the cake is that the officers in the video are trying to sue the news station that broke the story/video for defamation and “invasion of privacy.” Oh yeah, and the sheriff is denying allegations of wrongdoing. Despite there being VIDEO EVIDENCE. It doesn’t get more concrete and damning than that.

Now I’m not the kind of person who hates cops. I always figured, yeah there are some jerks in there just like any other profession, but in general they’re good people who are trying to help others and protect us. I’ve hardly ever encountered a cop who was an asshole. It just seems like more and more often, though, that you hear stories about cops who are completely corrupt, or taking advantage of their authority, or abusing the legal system to get out of messes they made. I don’t want to generalize, I’m certainly not talking about everyone or even the majority, and to be honest I hardly know anything about law enforcement, but it seems like maybe it should be harder to be a cop? Ya know, since they carry guns and weapons and stuff…? Just a thought. Maybe I’m way off base.

I wish this woman was married to Christian Bale. Then they’d really get it.

Entry filed under: Alison, Fucking Crazy, News and Boos. Tags: , , , .

Jamie Bell Retro Music Video-“I Should Have Known Better”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. neekaps  |  February 20, 2009 at 8:32 am

    thats pretty weird.

    Reply
  • 2. Pineapple....XVI  |  February 23, 2009 at 6:28 am

    the elements of the video do not surprise me. when they finally mention that it’s in Ohio, I again was totally NOT surprised. this kind of stuff happens ALL the time. It’s not supposed to happen & it usually isn’t documented with video evidence against the government agency. I myself have audio evidence of an officer of the court which demonstrates how he violated ethics & contributed to other civil problems. The court officer is in Lucas County, Ohio.

    Reply
  • 3. Jacki  |  March 4, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Honestly, my dad’s a cop, I know lots of cops, I went out with a cop… and I think they are awful people. Sometimes they go in awful, sometimes the job makes them awful. I don’t think I’ve ever met a cop I liked.

    If I ever called the police after being assaulted and they strip searched me and left me naked in a cell for 6 hours for no reason, you godamn bet all the news outlets would know about it instantly, as well as the ACLU.

    What the fuck is wrong with people? I’m a civilian and I know male officers are not to remove a woman’s underwear in a valid strip search. This is so humiliating and degrading it’s sick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


