Nothin’ Doin’

February 9, 2009 at 1:43 pm 2 comments

So I apologize for not posting in a while. I’m unemployed again, and hence, slipping into a numb stupor in which I don’t leave my apartment and nothing happens to me. Doesn’t exactly make for interesting writing, unfortunately. The good news is, since I no longer work for Giant Nameless Cable Channel, now I can talk shit about them, right?

No, no not really, because I am a wussy little pansy and incredibly paranoid about putting anything remotely negative that might get me in trouble on the internet. I’m completely convinced that all of my employers, past, present, and even future, are tracking my actions online through the very same tools I use to express myself and keep in touch with friends. Like Facebook and blogs and blah blah blah. I’m basically censoring myself before I get in trouble, because we all know what happens when you “get in trouble” over the internet: you get in trouble in real life and are typically penalized to a much higher degree, perhaps to the degree of having your ENTIRE LIFE RUINED. FOREVER.

So while I would love to talk shit about stupid co-workers or express any amount of personal opinion, that stuff is off-limits. I just see myself five years from now, being in line for some sweet job at some sweet company, and going in for the interview only to see a former Stupid Co-Worker is now the Stupid CEO and not only hates me, but is going to do everything they can to smite me. Paranoid? Yes. Unjustified? No.

For instance, this article talks about a guy who called in sick from work, then, like an idiot, went out and partied with his idiot friends who took photos and posted them on Facebook. Needless to say, this guy is an idiot for all the aforementioned reasons. Who parties on a weekday, anyway, guy? Cripes. And in this economy!

Anyway, this really has no point, except that I’m utterly insane and completely sure that anyone and everyone is stalking me online. Including my mother. Can you be stalked by your own mom? She comments on EVERYTHING. (If you’re reading this, I love you mom!) Good thing she HAS to love me and isn’t potentially going to hire me for some corporate job. The long and short of it is to turn all the privacy settings on to the point where you might as well not even have a Facebook because no one will be able to look at it, then breathe a sigh of relief.

In a perfect world, I think employers should get the hell off Facebook as a means of screening potential employees. What people do in their free time has no bearing on what they do at work, unless they’re an alcoholic and frequently show up late and drunk, in which case, you need to step up your game when it comes to screening employees and not rely on Facebook to do your dirty work.

And also, I’m sooooo sick of talking about Facebook and it’s social implications and what it means about identity and blah blah blah and this is THE LAST time I’m going to voluntarily launch the topic. So partially my post ABOUT Facebook is to decry my hatred of DISCUSSING Facebook, which is what I’m doing currently. It’s a vicious cycle. Privacy settings, people! I feel like it’s been brought up in every single conversation I’ve had so far in 2009 and we’re already beating a dead horse.

Entry filed under: Alison, Trash Talk. Tags: , , , .

Wake-Walking Through Dreams Why We Continue to Love Flight of the Conchords

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. seph  |  February 20, 2009 at 6:30 am

    It isn’t just facebook. Hotmail has this new ‘Windows Live Network’ thing going where, whenever you send an email to anyone, it automatically brings up the last messages they’ve left on other network pages. In the last two days it’s shown me one (married) family member flirting with a member of the opposite sex, and another sending sexually explicit messages to her friends.

    I’m like, DO NOT WANT.

    Reply
  • 2. alisaurus  |  February 20, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    how weird and unnecessary!! i’m glad gmail isn’t broadcasting my actions to everyone on my contacts list. as far as i know…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

