When You Are Engulfed in…Mehhhh

January 20, 2009 at 10:00 am 6 comments

David Sedaris’ new book, “When You Are Engulfed in Flames”, is, well, less than enflaming (ughhh). While his previous books, such as “Me Talk Pretty One Day”, “Naked”, and “Barrel Fever” effortlessly recall the hilarious moments of his youth, Flames instead chronicles his recent history, his life as an author and the crazy stories that come with it. Only, the stories aren’t that wacky. Writing about things like flying business class, staying in hotels, and speaking for book lectures, I kept finding myself, well, kind of bored. David seems aware of this, though, and continually struggles to join these domestic experiences with more ridiculous parallel ones.

Continually reaching, he over-extends himself, I feel. It was a disappointment, and not what I had in mind at all. The only story I found truly engrossing was the one about his neighbor, Helen, who managed to track the goings-on of his apartment building at least 10 hours a day, at 72 year old. Other stories that paled in comparison involved Sedaris’ pet spider collection, the sundaes he likes to eat on airplanes, and a cyst he had in his lower back. I…uh…well, yeah, there really isn’t much to say about those things, is there, David? I feel like he somehow knew that, and overestimated his ability to make the mundane hilarious. What’s next? Washing dishes? Doing taxes? Please, please just go back to writing about your crazy family.

Entry filed under: Books for Hire, Olivia. Tags: , , .

Will Arnett (& Amy Poehler) Jerk Me Off

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joe  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Thank you, Olivia! I felt the same way.

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  January 20, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Aw, how disappointing. I’m glad I didn’t splurge on the hardcover, though! I’ll just have to satisfy myself with re-reading Naked.

    Reply
  • 3. parkrangerolivia  |  January 21, 2009 at 11:00 am

    yeah…dont waste your money.

    Reply
  • 4. The Consumerista  |  January 23, 2009 at 8:06 am

    I was just about to write a review of this on my blog! I found it very disappointing as well… 😦

    Reply
  • 5. parkrangerolivia  |  January 23, 2009 at 10:35 am

    I think that’s why it’s so…well….disturbing. No matter how fucked up your life gets, Sedaris’ is always supposed to be even crazier. He didn’t deliver that comfort this time, and I think it leaves readers shaken.

    Reply
  • 6. best hostels online  |  September 15, 2010 at 8:46 am

    great article I recommend everyone to read

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


