The Mighty Book of Boosh

January 16, 2009 at 10:14 am 5 comments

I apologize for the recent barrenness of this blog. I’m sorry. But not as sorry as Betty and Katie should be.

You never have time for me and the blog anymore! You’re always out drinking, with all your little whores, and then you come stumbling home drunk, promising to change. This blog isn’t a one way street you know! All you do is read, and read, and read some more, never doing any of the writing yourself! It takes two to blog, and I’ve got more than one blog to blog on so I can’t spend the rest of my youth filling your blog up with bloggings! Olivia and I are tired of being taken advantage of (pardon my preposition.) I’m only 22 and can feel my blog already drying up and withering away…. 

But on to the post. I’m in Ireland, and have been sitting in my boyfriend’s family’s living room for about 80% of the time in the last three weeks. Needless to say, not much has been happening leaving me with very little to post about. However, we did at one point go to a mall that is just as empty and pointless as this country, where I bought a book. A book that will change all of our lives forever.

The Mighty Book of Boosh!

The one good thing about Ireland is that The Mighty Boosh comes on television, with full episodes in their entirety. The highlight of my time here (besides the drinking) has been seeing all 30 minutes of the Old Gregg episode in full glorious quality, and then buying the accompanying coffee table book which is no doubt a fabulous partner to my other favorite coffee table book, Amy Sedaris’s “I Like You.”

This book is jam-packed with hilarious short stories and beautiful watercolors of Slash relating to the utterly genius show created by “Howard Moon” and “Vince Noir” as they are known. It’s enough to keep you entertained for hours, which is definitely a plus when you’ve been sitting around by yourself long enough that you’re finally making conversation with the dog. In addition to the beautiful full color images and LOL witty writing, I got this book for 50% off (dirt cheap!), which, to me, is almost exciting enough to warrant an orgasm. 

The bad news, however, is that you probably can’t buy it in stores in the U.S., which is also true of the DVD box set of the show, The Mighty Boosh. I had my heart set on getting all three seasons, but alas, it can only be ordered on Amazon.UK and hence, wouldn’t be region compatible with any of my crappy American electronics. Damn you region coding! Damn you PAL! 

Despite the incompatibility of European DVDs in The States, a book should work wherever you go. (This is good news.) So you CAN order the book online, from Europe, and while you’ll probably pay extra for shipping and the crappy conversion rate, this glorious pile of paper will arrive to you in 6-8 weeks and be enough to quell your craving for The Boosh. God bless us, everyone.

Entry filed under: Alison, Books for Hire. Tags: , , .

Iddo Goldberg: Close Encounters of the Skeeting Kind Will Arnett (& Amy Poehler)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parkrangerolivia  |  January 16, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I. Want. That.

    Reply
  • 2. alisaurus  |  January 16, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Turns out I was wrong, and it’s DIRT CHEAP on Amazon.uk too. 7.79 pounds!!!! Aaaaand it’s on American Amazon for like $30. That’s more exciting than Cillit Bang.

    Reply
  • 3. parkrangerolivia  |  January 16, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    (in a barry scott voice) WOW! the SAVINGS!

    Reply
  • 4. The Consumerista  |  January 19, 2009 at 9:08 am

    For the record, Cillit Bang is totally useless. White wine vinegar cleans better. Yo mamma probably cleans better too. No, seriously, I’m sure she’s a very tidy lady.

    Reply
  • 5. neekaps  |  January 24, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I resent the first paragraph of this post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

