The Soundtrack to My Life

December 10, 2008 at 1:39 pm 6 comments

Saturday night, after a crave-quenching dinner at shake shack with Betty, I headed to the 2008 Blip Festival. With no real clue what I was in for, just knowing it was some dudes making music on their gameboys, I seem to have stumbled upon my favorite music genre of all time:

Using gaming technology, 8-bit music makers basically hack into their childhood toys in order to create and synthesize music. With Gameboys, Nintendo DS, and even a Pikachu modifier, the DJs perform live on stage while home-made graphic equalizers are projected behind them. So, for example, while the music is supplied by artist Jellica, the visuals are credited as artists C-Men. It’s a total collaboration, and I couldn’t be more excited.

Bubblyfish

Bubblyfish

I had no idea that all of the music I kept pointing towards on Pandora was, in fact, all based on this 8 bit/Chiptune technology. It’s like my childhood, just on ecstasy, with sweaty geeks grinding on me in a mosh pit of repressed aggression a la Zelda Ocarina of Time. I remember at one point I turned to a friend I’d made in the audience and asked, “Do you play mariokart?” “Yes!” she shouted. “This sounds just like the beach level!”

The blue shells of my mind shot off in excitement while my pituitary gland cried at all the progress it had lost in a single night. So it goes. 

Check out more 8-bit music here, or better yet, buy the Kraftwerk cover album here.

Entry filed under: OBSESSION, Olivia. Tags: , , , , , .

Celeb Sighting: Perry Ullmann on the N The Proposed Government Bailout of U.S. Auto Industries

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alisaurus  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    hey that sounds really cool! thanks for inviting me, douchers! 😛

    Reply
  • 2. parkrangerolivia  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    you were celebrating mini-christmas!

    Reply
  • […] Source […]

    Reply
  • 4. alisaurus  |  December 10, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    oh yeah. damn it! well mini-christmas was fun too. remember to invite me next year.

    Reply
  • 5. Joe  |  December 10, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    My god I heard the theme to The Neverending Story there.

    Reply
  • 6. parkrangerolivia  |  December 11, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Haha, you were there? I had to leave once some crowd surfer bashed me in the head during Nullsleep’s set. I didn’t hear any Neverending Story, unfortunately.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


