I Want a Puppy

December 1, 2008 at 10:34 pm 7 comments

Like every warm-blooded female in America, I am obsessed with dogs, and specifically, puppies. I was recently hit with a serious bout of puppy fever, which I can only assume is sort of like a 20-something New Yorkers equivalent to wedding or baby fever. (I got a fever, and the only prescription is, more puppy.) Somehow, I am desperately wanting one of my own, and Cute Overload and Daily Puppy just aren’t providing me with the fix I need.

So anyhoo, I often re-route my trips through the Village to Christopher Street where I hit two puppy stores in a row – Le Petit Puppy and some other place that I don’t know the name of. That some other place is where I fell in love with this little guy, who we call Gizmo because of his incredible likeness to the fuzzy little monster from Gremlins. 

img_1972

Normally I am not a fan of Chihuahuas, I’m more of a poodle girl, but my friend here is fuzzy and furry, and sort of chubby, and has a face like a cross between a bear and a bat. He’s irresistible. Not to mention the first time I took him out to play, he immediately crawled up onto my lap and cuddled with me for about 10 minutes straight, ending with a near attempt to stash him in my purse and bolt from the place.

Tonight I visited and played with him for the third time in about three weeks, and at this point, I’m on a first name basis with the guy who works there (who is from London, and quite cute I might add.) And I know what you’re going to say – adopt a dog! Well yes I know, and believe me, I would. But as irony would have it, most New York shelters are full of dogs too large to be practical living in my small apartment. I tried to adopt an adorable baby toy poodle in Maryland called Fuzzy, but she was given to an “older couple” who frankly, can go straight to hell for stealing my dog. Adopting also requires lengthy paperwork and background checks, and even then you’re not guaranteed the dog you want if someone else has applied for it as well. All of which makes adopting rather difficult for someone who is young, lives in an apartment, and trying to get their first dog. Not to say adopting isn’t great! If you can, you should! This piece about dogs in a pound, while sort of cheesy, nearly made me cry.  Since adoption hasn’t yet happened for me, I am volunteering at an animal shelter starting this weekend to help the cause.

img_1974

But anyway, purchasing isn’t really an option for me either, since this furry little guy costs oh, hum, $1,395. But wait! There’s a $200 discount on all dogs now, so he’s only $1195! That’s reasonable, right? 

Entry filed under: Alison, Miscellaneous Musings. Tags: , .

Top Chef is Getting Ugly Tina Fey’s Scar

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A Bailes  |  December 1, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    ya’ll should come over to Fort Greene park at about 8:30 AM. All the self-employed creative types bring out their dogs and puppies and let them play with each other. Seriously, it’s a puppyfest. Kinda awesome if I wake up early enough to catch it.

    Reply
  • 2. parkrangerolivia  |  December 2, 2008 at 2:04 am

    yeah! we should go jogging through the park and hit up the domestic bliss simultaneously!

    Reply
  • 3. Joe  |  December 2, 2008 at 8:04 am

    OR you can just pick up a cat from the street. Those are usually free!

    Reply
  • 4. alisaurus  |  December 2, 2008 at 9:57 am

    only problem with that is, cats suck.

    Reply
  • 5. A Bailes  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    haha, cats do suck. Even though there’s tons of them roaming around Fort Greene too. There’s this one gangly one missing an eye. I call him ghetto pirate kitty…he’s a champ.

    Yo Olivia, hit me up and we’ll make it happen.

    P.S. I read your blog for hella days now. Ever since I discovered instantly viewable episodes of 30 Rock on Netflix I can’t leave my computer.

    Reply
  • 6. Betty  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:30 am

    He is really adorable. When are you volunteering at the animal shelter? I’d love to do that!

    Reply
  • 7. alisaurus  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:19 am

    i’m starting Sunday as a photographer to get the animals up on their website to help get them adopted! i’ll let you know if there are more opportunities after my first day! i’m really excited.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

