Vampire Stuck in a Tree

November 30, 2008 at 11:36 am 17 comments

I encourage all of you to see the movie “Twilight” because its was first 11 bucks I spend in a theatre not regretting the purchase in an eternity. It’s very romantic. It’s not scary but its shot like it is, pale and anemic like a vampire. I think you should see it in theatres, it’s shot on 35mm. 2:35: 1

Big, blown up, awesome.

37 million dollar budget

69 million dollars in bumps the first weekend!

We have to talk about the soundtrack too– I’ll get to that later.

“Twilight” is a  love story/ vampire movie about a girl named Bella Swan who moves from Arizona to a small enchanted forest town in Forks, Washington. She moves in with her dad because her mom is trying to get the house renovated. She starts going to a  high school where there’s this schism between normal looking kids and kids who look like vampires. She goes to biology class and sits to do an observation of onion cell reproduction at a lab bench with a very handsome man named Edward, played by Robert Pattinson, who apparently grew up in London, England doing theatre (he was also in Harry Potter Order of the Phoenix, cast as Cedric Diggory). Edward has super human abilities, which become apparent to Bella when he begins to court her. For instance, he can run faster than a mountain lion; he can stop a moving car with his bare hands; and he hasn’t aged his 1918, like all vampires he is immortal. But the closer they get the more Edward must control the primal urge for her blood even though he is a vegetarian vampire (meaning: he eats animals not humans!) Edward and Bella somehow manage their unmanageable love.

Twilight is a visceral Romeo and Juliet story,  a forbidden love affair between vampire and mortal. The entire movie, you’re squirming in the your seat waiting for them to kiss, but he can’t really kiss her because he isn’t strong enough to control himself. Her conflict is that she really loves him but she’s also scared to lose her family and forfeit her mortality to become a vampire. So, this sprouts a  juggle between their true love and what’s ethical for them.  I think there’s a huge payoff not seeing them psychically able to express their sex, which builds itself over the entire movie. Basically, the story writes its own sexual tension.

Soundtrack: there’s this one sequence where the  vampire family plays baseball and they invite Bella to play with them.  BAM! A thunderstorm in the  open field in the middle of Forks! And “Supermassive Black Hole” by Muse starts playing. I guess Hedgewick got the hook up from some pretty contemporary rock bands. I know Radiohead has a track in there (first time I heard Radiohead in a feature, same with Linkin Park ).

see it

peace

Katia

Entry filed under: Aspect Fellatio, Katie. Tags: , , , , , .

Diego Luna Top Chef is Getting Ugly

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pedro  |  November 30, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I think they spent at least twice as that in publicity…

    Reply
  • 2. Lillie Valintine  |  November 30, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Twilight is one of the best movies in history! If you love vampires then you should read the whole saga. Another great vampire love story is Vampire kisses. Here is a list of recommended vampire stories; Vampire kisses, Kissing coffins, Vampireville, Dance with a vampire, The Coffin Club, Royal blood, Love bites. Blood relatives 1, 2, 3, Interview with a vampire, Dracula, my sister the vampire switch, (the whole series) Vampire dialogue, Twilight, New moon, Eclipse, and Breaking dawn.

    Reply
  • 3. neekaps  |  November 30, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    To Pedro:

    I didn’t see much print and advertising so that surprises me

    To Lillie:
    Thank you for the suggestions!
    will check it out!
    Katie

    Reply
  • 4. parkrangerolivia  |  November 30, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    SNAP! i totally wanted to do a review of this movie, too. I saw it twice. I really don’t know what all the hate is about. Sometimes it was corny, but wow, it was so, so much better than I thought it would be.

    Yeah, the baseball scene was fucking awesome, especially the ramming speed. Favorite part though? When Edward sees Bella and his piece of paper goes “erect”. So much symbolism. This is sure to become a cult favorite.

    Reply
  • 5. Betty  |  December 1, 2008 at 12:34 am

    The main reason I want to see it is just that Pattinson talks so much shit about the book, the author, the movie, and its fans in interviews, which makes me love him a little bit.

    Reply
  • 6. parkrangerolivia  |  December 1, 2008 at 2:19 am

    You should also see it for Pattinson’s weird channeling of Robert De Niro in Taxi Driver… I think he thinks that’s what an “american” accent is supposed to sound like. Plus, he’s scientifically beautiful in that plain, symmetrical kind of way.

    Reply
  • 7. neekaps  |  December 1, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    – Betty-
    WAH, wait, why doesn’t he like it?

    Reply
  • 8. Betty  |  December 1, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I think he’s just really averse to the teen-girl romance genre. A bunch of fans were acting super obsessive over him which creeped him out, and he also said Twilight reads like Stephanie Meyers’ personal sexual fantasy, which is hilarious.

    Reply
  • 9. neekaps  |  December 1, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I want to know what Alison thinks.

    I also want to say don’t diss it til you see it.

    Reply
  • 10. alisaurus  |  December 1, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I haven’t seen it yet, though I do have some aversion because of all the hype. It’s on my list of things to do though. I can understand Pattinson’s aversion to it as well. I read one story where he was doing a book signing and a 7 year old girl asked him to bite her, and another occasion when he was on the red carpet or something and these tweens had like scratched their necks to the point of bleeding, to simulate a vampire bite, and said, “We did this for you”. I haven’t read the books or seen the movie, but basically they come across as being the equivalent of teen romance novels, which I guess isn’t bad, but probably not deserving of any kind of literary herald. Not meant to be a diss, just an observation.

    Reply
  • 11. Betty  |  December 2, 2008 at 1:02 am

    I’m not dissing it, but I know it is not my cup of tea. I also think Pattinson is hilarious.
    This is his awesome quote from his EW interview:

    “Well, I mean, I think people — there’s a thing about the books where, uh, when I was reading them, I, ugh, I didn’t know how to read it from, you know, teenage g– or any woman’s perspective, I guess. I don’t really know why they like it. But what I thought was weird about it, the, what, the reaction I had with it was … umm…. When I read it, it seemed like (grimaces) I was convinced that … Stephenie was … convinced that she was Bella, and uh, and you, it wasn’t, it was like it was a book that wasn’t supposed to be published, like reading her … her sort of sexual fantasy about some — especially when she says that it was based on a dream, and it’s like, “Oh, then I had a dream about this really sexy guy” and she just writes this book about it, and there’s some things about Edward that are just so specific that it’s like, I was just convinced that, that this woman is mad, she’s completely mad, and she’s in love with her own fictional creation and I — sometimes you, like, feel uncomfortable reading this thing, and I think a lot of people feel the same way, that it’s kind of voyeuristic, ah, and it creates this sick pleasure in a lot of ways. But then it kind of introduces a lot of the, the action elements and it’s very honest and really really honest and that’s kind of what’s weird about it.”

    Reply
  • 12. alisaurus  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    i love how he ends with, “and that’s kind of what’s weird about it.” most people would try to backpedal and be like, “oh, yeah, and um, that’s why i love it!” i appreciate his brutal honesty and candor haha.

    Reply
  • 13. alisaurus  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    AND i think we should all probably read the first book in the series so we can discuss with some knowledge and authority on the subject.

    Reply
  • 14. neekaps  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    My review is strictly of the movie.

    Reply
  • 15. neekaps  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Did Leonardo Dicaprio act as depreciatory of his female fans after the success of Romeo and Juliet or Titanic?

    If you’re signing an agreement to act in a film, you’re also agreeing to accept the public’s reactions.

    Reply
  • 16. Betty  |  December 3, 2008 at 11:40 am

    I get the impression that he is intentionally trying to break his contract because he’s not interested in continuing to work on the films. My bet is that he either gets face tattoos or gains 150 pounds next.

    Reply
  • 17. neekaps  |  December 3, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    its weird, when I see interviews of him and Kristen Stewart, she looks so much better than him outside the film.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


