Fly

September 14, 2008 at 9:06 pm 4 comments

I took this clip off of Sugar Ray’s mv for the song Fly. This mv was directed by MCG, tied to Squeak, in the mid 90s I guess.

I remember finding this section really inspirational. I have ideas about how it was done, but I still don’t know for sure. I’ve been trying to find the production notes on google or even on cinematographer.com but I can’t find any information.

I love this part. I want to make videos that look like this. I’m sick of PoMo cheese with good art directors and super glossy cameras. I’m sick of pomo lacking inventiveness and “taking the easy way out”.

 

Entry filed under: Aspect Fellatio, Katie, Miscellaneous Musings. Tags: , , , .

Celeb Sighting: James Franco* It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parkrangerolivia  |  September 14, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Fuck I loved Sugar Ray. That album is actually pretty good, before Mark McGrath started getting so into himself. I’ve never seen the video before, though. maybe it wasnt filmed in that room at all, but a jungle-type-gym in front of a greenscreen?

    Reply
  • 2. Betty's Dad  |  September 15, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Take a look at Fred Astaire doing this dance routine …

    The whole room rotates.

    Reply
  • 3. neekaps  |  September 15, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    ah the famous ceiling dance.
    I still don’t really understand it technically.

    There’s also something like this in Mary Poppins.
    Maybe it would be easy to read about the film history of Mary Poppins.

    Katie

    pretty fly.

    Reply
  • 4. matthew  |  September 27, 2008 at 12:52 am

    this is exactly how it was done. the room was built with everything rigid. the camera was then bolted down where it is at. then, the room just rotated and mark just slid to wherever the floor was rolling to. i was there so know you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


