The Multiple Framed Music Video

September 3, 2008 at 12:22 am 2 comments

Sure, it was cool once it started. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to trace its roots, of course, but when it made its way into a commercial for HP products, I knew it had reached the end of its novelty period. But, of course, that hasn’t stopped bands from still using this technique to tunnel into different takes.

The Mountain Goats – Woke Up New

LCD Soundstyem – Tribulations

Klaxons – Gravity’s Rainbow

Death Cab For Cutie – Sound of Settling

The Ting Tings – Shut Up and Let Me Go

After seeing all of these videos, I must admit that I feel the Death Cab For Cutie one is the least imaginative. The thing about conceptual music videos is that if you’re going to try a new medium, you have to use that medium to the best of its ability. I feel like DCFC just took this idea and put it on a broken record. Pity, they’re usually pretty good about these kinds of things.

I feel that LCD Soundsystem did the best job of this, harkening back to some of Michel Gondry’s work for Chemical Brothers- Let Forever Be.

The Klaxons, well, I don’t really know what the hell they were doing. But I love green screened videos, so I’ll let it slide. Also, The Ting Tings were particularly annoying in that they used the same effect over, and over, but maybe it’s just because I find the girl’s performance to be particularly obnoxious. Either way, this trend needs to stop. Directors, GET INSPIRED!

Entry filed under: Aspect Fellatio, Olivia. Tags: , , , , , , .

Before I Die Let’s Talk Politics

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  September 3, 2008 at 12:34 am

    You know me, so you know I have to mention The White Stripes’ Seven Nation Army:

    From five years ago, no less! I think that HP commercial’s been around for a bit, too, but I still love the way it looks.

    Reply
  • 2. parkrangerolivia  |  September 3, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Ah, don’t think I didn’t consider this one. I ruled it out because the transitions never take us to an entirely different plane of action, and nothing needed to be considered in pre-production.

    But it’s still an awesome video. It is definitely a precursor to The Ting Ting’s video.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


