Before I Die

September 1, 2008 at 9:13 pm 5 comments

This art project has been making its rounds lately- the artists took Polaroids of people and asked them to write what they would like to do before they die.  A huge number of people say they wish to travel, and the rest vary between the sweet, the cynical, and the heartbreaking.   Here are a few of my favorites:

beforeidieiwantto.org

Entry filed under: Betty. Tags: , .

Two Very Painful Videos The Multiple Framed Music Video

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ryan  |  September 2, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Man, Lady Number Two probably has no idea how morbid she came across there, does she?

    Reply
  • 2. parkrangerolivia  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I went to the website, and you’re right, it does involve a lot of people who wished to travel. The one you posted is probably the most original. I vote we do our own!

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  September 2, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    The neat thing about all the people who want to travel are the scales on which they see the world. One lady wants to see every country, another wants to set foot on Antarctica, and one says simply “I want to visit four different countries!” It made me realize how lucky I am to have had the travel experiences I have. It’s also neat because there’s just this universal desire to meet other people and see how other cultures live, which is pretty inspiring if you think about it.

    And Ryan, I like Lady No. 2 because she totally ignored the rules of the project. Rather than saying “Before I die I want to…” she just went off on her own little tangent. I like the sentiment, though. She looks happy enough in her picture that I believe she really means it.

    Reply
  • 4. Plustax  |  September 3, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    This is a fantastic project.

    I need to find this person so we can start coordinating ASAP.

    Reply
  • 5. Plustax  |  September 3, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Sorry for the spam, but this one had me in hysterics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

