This is What Music Videos Should Be

August 9, 2008 at 6:38 pm 10 comments

I know posting twice in one day is lame, but HOLY CRAP, I can’t get over how much I love this music video.

Lykke Li- I’m Good, I’m Gone

If, as Pauly Fitz would say, “Music Videos are supposed to be spectacle”, then this video fulfills that objective requirement, hands down. Directed by cinematographer Mattias Montero, I’m sure we can expect great things from him in his transition to directing. Check out his other video for Lykke Li, for “Little Bit”, also.

Entry filed under: Aspect Fellatio, Olivia. Tags: , , .

CSS’s Lovefoxxx= Love of My Life Butthis Face

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  August 9, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    That looks gorgeous, and I totally have an editing boner right now.

    Reply
  • 2. jord  |  August 9, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    honestly, it just feels kind of like a derivative of

    mixed with some fischer spooner or something

    Reply
  • 3. Ryan  |  August 10, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I thought of Carpark North when I first saw this too, but I’d hardly say it’s derivative. Even if the Lykke Li song is about (I think) being a singer in the public eye (yawn) it’s got waaay more soul and rhythm to it than Human, and the visual elements of the video are a bit more eclectic.

    Plus, Lykke Li’s legal.

    Reply
  • 4. neekaps  |  August 10, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    I like when they’re all on the ground swimming like FISH.
    And Yah to Jord commenting. I spread the Gospel of Googly

    Reply
  • 5. parkrangerolivia  |  August 10, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I don’t think this is like the carpark north video, unless you are lumping it in with the “crazy things going in a highschool” category, in which case “I’m Good, I’m Gone” could be a derivative of a lot of other things, too.

    Ryan: Is that really what the song is about? I looked up the lyrics…”If you say I aim to high from down below, you’ll be calling but I won’t be by the phone”? I don’t see it.

    Reply
  • 6. Ryan  |  August 10, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    I just looked them up as well, and it seems I’ve been mishearing “peeking over shoulders” as “peaking off-shores”, “steppin, I’m stompin” as “step in the song”, and “we must go” as “with miles to go”, which with “your hands will clap” and the general theme of working, it all added up to a song about finding moderate success in a music career, but still with a long way to go before hitting the big-time. But, at the same time, she’s playing by her rules, and once everybody catches on to how great she is at what she does, she’ll have moved on.

    But perhaps that’s not it.

    Reply
  • 7. parkrangerolivia  |  August 10, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Hahaha, oh man. Swedes and their crazily adorable inscrutable accents!

    Reply
  • 8. alisaurus  |  August 11, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    YES. I love this. I especially love her body language/dancing/furrowed brow/concerned expression

    Reply
  • 9. parkrangerolivia  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Me too. At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I am kind of hooked on the Albarn-disinterested-face school of thought, but no, I think she was directed very well. Also: she has an awesome choice for wardrobe. Very flowy,and it fits the tone perfectly.

    Reply
  • 10. Elle  |  October 16, 2008 at 3:18 am

    This video is so incredible. I came across it through looking up information on who directed her video for “Little Bit” and am now totally hooked on Mattias Montero. It’s been so long since I’ve been genuinely impressed by the cinematography and editing of a music video.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

