Tattoo For A Reason

July 23, 2008 at 5:25 pm 3 comments

Anyone who knows me probably knows that my dear beloved dog passed away on Friday, and in a year of almost constant deaths in my family, this one was the hardest. Maybe it sounds wrong that I’m more upset about losing my dog than I was about losing my grandparents, aunt, and uncle, but guess who I would turn to in my greatest times of need and grief? My little Lucy dog, who was there for me throughout my life, from the time I was 6 years old. I come from a very big family with literally dozens of cousins, so in losing family members, while extremely hard, at least I was not alone. But it seemed like Lucy and I only had each other, and no one was closer to her than I was (and no one was closer to me than she was).  We grew up together.

I was inconsolable for days after hearing the news of her passing, and in a way, I still am. The worst thing, to me, about losing someone you love, is the thought that one day you’ll get over the fact that they’re gone and maybe even forget them. Like they were never there. The only thing that got me out of bed through my grief was the idea of getting a tattoo to commemorate her life, and to know that she would always be with me and that I’d never ever forget her.

Now I take this seriously because it is forever. I had debated the idea of getting a tattoo for years, probably only for aesthetic reasons, but I never did. And I’m glad. Because this means the world to me and was absolutely worth it. I’ll think of you every day.

Entry filed under: Alison, Miscellaneous Musings. Tags: , , , .

Recipe Renegade: Seven Layer Bean Dip THIS SHIT IS REAL

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parkrangerolivia  |  July 23, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Awwww, that’s really sweet. Sniff.

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  July 23, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    That is really really sweet, and it looks bitchin. A+++++

    Reply
  • 3. Tim Cameron  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:29 am

    It’s a lovely looking tattoo.

    Let’s hope you never find yourself in a real life version of Memento though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


