Did You Hear?

July 2, 2008 at 8:33 pm 12 comments

It’s time to start being nostalgic for the 90s! We’re approaching the twenty year mark, and we’ve already witnessed an awkward revival of high-waisted pants late last year. Worse than that, though, is the impending wave of plaid-patterned outfits, OH GOD ALL THE PLAID. Soon we’ll be wearing knee-length Bea Arthur vests, hot-rolling our hair, and stocking up on Sun-In. The future of our past looks pretty grim, guys.

Is this really what you want?

There is a bright side, though- the 90s actually produced a lot of pretty amazing music. I don’t mean singing Spice Girls in the car with your friends at the top of your lungs (because god who would do that, ha ha ha), or remembering your school dance and listening to (shudder) Matchbox 20. I mean the Pixies, and Pavement, and Wilco, and Neutral Milk Hotel. My Bloody Valentine, Radiohead, Blur, The Smashing Pumpkins, and Elliott Smith. Jeff Buckley’s Grace. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. Björk’s Post. Weezer’s Blue Album! And, uh, the Spice Girls. SHUT UP.

That’s not to mention the slew of pretty solid one-hit-wonders that have since been mostly forgotten. Remember Eve 6’s “Inside Out“? Harvey Danger’s “Flagpole Sitta“? So rather than fend off nineties nostalgia by furiously waving our arms in front of our collective faces (which isn’t terribly effective anyway), let’s embrace it. It’s the perfect excuse to listen to all of those albums you used to love, and seek out old favorites on YouTube. I’ll get you started, with White Town’s “Your Woman”.

What awesome songs did you just realize you haven’t heard in fifteen years?

Entry filed under: Betty, Miscellaneous Musings. Tags: , , , , , , .

So What If I’m an 18-Year Old Frat Boy Finally, Man is Able to Fly Like a Bird

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parkrangerolivia  |  July 2, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Tal Bachman- She’s So High

    fuck yes

    Reply
  • 2. Ryan  |  July 2, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    I loved – like, loved like I love family, or spagnola ice cream – TLC’s Waterfalls. I bought the album it was on and played the first half of the album over and over and over. And I’m only just realising that song was about drugs and HIV.

    Damn, I’m downloading that, right now.

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  July 2, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    CRAZYSEXYCOOL

    That and Gangsta’s Paradise were the two songs constantly on repeat at our roller rink, so I’ll forever associate Waterfalls with uneven use of my calf muscles and eying all the crustachio’d boys to see who’d be a candidate for the partner skate.

    Reply
  • 4. Ryan  |  July 2, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    And while we’re getting our R&B on: Lauren Hill – That thing, that thing, that thiiiiiiiing.

    Oh, man, Betty, what have you begat upon me? Here I was thinking I didn’t have a queer side when no, actually, I was looking for it a decade early.

    And in the wrong ethnic demographic.

    Reply
  • 5. alisaurus  |  July 2, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    ohhhhh my god i remember that song! i kind of love it. betty, please burn me a 90s mix CD pleeeeaaaaseeeee… and also, i am shocked that you didn’t mention chumbawumba because that is like your favorite band ever and first CD. that’s right! it’s out!

    Reply
  • 6. alisaurus  |  July 2, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    and my favorite song from the 90s is “mo’ money mo’ problems” by the artist formerly known as puff daddy and ma$e. it plays in crunch all the time. and also, “the rain (supa dupa fly)” by missy elliott. i was black in the 90s.

    Reply
  • 7. Betty  |  July 2, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Yeeeah Chumbawamba! They seriously inspired me to become an anarchist for about a month.
    I was really into Ghetto Superstar. That beat is awesome and ODB!

    Reply
  • 8. The Silly Addiction  |  July 3, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Oh man! There’s something weirdly unforgettable about that song. “Some got hopes and dreams / We got ways and means” is one of those odd “default” lyrics that pop into my head whenever my mind is blank, even ten years later.

    Another line sticks in my head because I always mishear it as “A million refugess with unlimited Warren G’s”, which is a disturbing concept.

    Reply
  • 9. Ryan  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Chumbawumba reminds me of wanting to hurt people.

    Reply
  • 10. Betty  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Yeah, well, uh, your FACE reminds me of wanting to hurt people.

    Actually I’m totally with you- that one single got old really fast, although, as Alison said, it was my first CD and I’ve got a soft spot for it. That said, the rest of the album holds up surprisingly well.

    Reply
  • 11. miranda  |  July 3, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    i remember being in your room in like 6th grade betty talking about how like, illegal that song about the virgin mary on the chumbawumba cd was. and running around trying to find matt something (the jewish kid) to get him to hear that song because i had some huge stupid crush on him. ah, the 90s.

    Reply
  • 12. Disco Stu  |  July 4, 2008 at 8:31 am

    I… I still wear plaid flannel.

    To bed mostly. Sometimes though, it’s cold outside and I grab the nearest thing I can find and it’s a flannel shirt, and I throw on some shorts, except it happens to be my old pair of cargos I’ve still got lying around, and I look in the mirror and have a small heart attack when I realise that I’m the equivalent of those guys when I was a kid who’d wear acid wash jeans and a denim jacket to the shops.

    Then I go to the shops anyway because I’m lazy and I’m already dressed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

