“I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence” by Amy Sedaris

June 17, 2008 at 10:30 pm 2 comments

This is one of my favorite books, because it’s big, has lots of pictures, and is a brilliant combination of hilarity and useful good housekeeping ideas from a woman I respect. Amy Sedaris’s “I Like You” has dozens of recipes from desserts and entrees to various cheeseballs, as well as clever and kitschy craft ideas, personal grooming tips, and entertaining anecdotes. Here’s an excerpt from Amy’s introduction, which explains perfectly why every woman and gay man needs to own this book:

Whether you live in a basement with the income of a ten-year-old girl or on a saffron farm in the south of Spain, the spirit of hospitality is the same. It’s the giving of yourself, a present of you to them from me for us.

…This colorfully illustrated book (see pictures) is my attempt to share with you something I take very seriously: entertaining in my home, my style. It may not be the proper way, or the most traditional, or even legal, but it works for me.

Even though the word “entertainment” is commonly used today, to me it sounds charmingly old-fashioned, like courtship or back-alley abortion. I like the traditional idea of entertaining, which for me means lively guests, good food, cocktails, and bubbly conversation.

The book’s aesthetic is reminiscent of retro 70s cookbooks and seethes Amy’s style. Here is another excerpt from the chapter titled, “Entertaining the Elderly”:

The googly-eyed peanut, our unofficial mascot.

‘Nuff said. Amy Sedaris is like Martha Stewart for young, funny, feminist women who aren’t secretly fire-breathing demons. For independent women who like have to a laugh, and care more about good times than proper decorum. For women who don’t exactly know what “decorum” means.

In short, buy this book. It’s full of more fun craft ideas like this one:

Entry filed under: Alison, Books for Hire. Tags: , , , .

Recipe: Shrimp with Coconut Rice SECRET DIARY OF A CALL GIRL: Like a Good Hand That Keeps Being Poorly Played

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parkrangerolivia  |  June 18, 2008 at 12:47 am

    Amy Sedaris: will you be the god mother of my unborn babies??

    Reply
  • 2. The Mighty Book of Boosh « Googly Eyes  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:16 am

    […] The one good thing about Ireland is that The Mighty Boosh comes on television, with full episodes in their entirety. The highlight of my time here (besides the drinking) has been seeing all 30 minutes of the Old Gregg episode in full glorious quality, and then buying the accompanying coffee table book which is no doubt a fabulous partner to my other favorite coffee table book, Amy Sedaris’s “I Like You.” […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


