Stephanie Wins Top Chef, All is Right With the World

June 12, 2008 at 12:16 am 4 comments

The Top Chef Finale was tonight, and hence my #1 priority today. It wasn’t quite as epic and exciting as last year’s finale, which was broadcast live as the three (all fairly talented and likable) contestants found out in real time who got that spanking $100,000 prize furnished by the Glad family of products, but kind of exciting nontheless.

To be honest, Lisa should’ve been kicked off the show after about halfway through. The fact that Dale and Antonia went home before her was a complete abomination, because both of them were obviously more talented in the kitchen and personality departments. I had a theory that the only reason she made it to the final three is that she’s the villain, and they always have to have a villain make it to the end (for example, Tiffani, Season 1; Marcel, Season 2; and Hung, Season 3) whether they are qualified or not (this time, she was not). Sitting down to the finale tonight, I said, “If Lisa wins this thing, I am going to shit my pants,” and about 3/4 of the way through, I was really concerned I might end up sitting in my own doo-doo. Much to my surprise, according to the judges, Lisa pulled out a pretty solid and delicious meal, while Stephanie’s had a few more missteps. And poor Richard looked like he was about to cry the entire time – his dishes seemed to lack his usual brilliance/weirdness, and was obviously the least favorite throughout the meal though he was probably the most accomplished chef of the three.

I was rooting for Stephanie the whole time, because it seemed (sucks that we can’t taste the dishes, obvy) like she made pretty consistently good dishes, and was just a really genuinely sweet and nice person. Out of this season’s contestants, so many of them were unremarkable and boring, and I never thought I’d say this, but, I would’ve liked a bit more drama. More outrageous sabotage, head-shaving, and personal feuds. And more challenges involving vending machines and Bailey’s Irish Cream and S&M Parties next season, please.

In short, congrats Stephanie on quietly kicking ass with dignity. All those other contestants who said you have to be a fighter and a bitch to make it in the industry are obviously full of shit; all you have to do is be a good chef and make good food (duh!) She’s finally the first female Top Chef, what’s next? A female president?! Oh, wait, no… nevermind.

Entry filed under: Alison, I Saw It On TV. Tags: , , .

Meat in My Sandwich Anthony Bourdain

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parkrangerolivia  |  June 12, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Olivia’s text to Alison during the Top Chef finale:
    10:00 pm: I’m so excited!!!!!!!
    10:37 pm: Alison! What’s Richard going to say?!?!?! I’m on tenterhooks here!
    10:55 pm: Alison I am freaking out here!!!!!!!!
    11:00 pm: Fuck yes!!!! Ok I’ll stop raping your inbox now

    Reply
  • 2. alisaurus  |  June 12, 2008 at 8:56 am

    oh my god i didn’t get ANY of these! did you really send them? dammit!!

    Reply
  • 3. parkrangerolivia  |  June 12, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    stop turning your text messages off!
    now we need a new addiction…something with preferably more herion and less cable, since i don’t have a TV now.

    Reply
  • 4. alisaurus  |  June 13, 2008 at 9:56 am

    i didn’t turn texting off, AT&T accidentally removed the feature from my plan. like… 3 weeks ago. that’s how long it took me to notice i wasn’t getting or sending texts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


