Love at First Sight: Fairway

June 3, 2008 at 7:51 pm 4 comments

I met someone yesterday. He’s handsome, resourceful, and built. Pretty cheap, but in a good way. Plus he lives near me, and while this would normally stifle me, I think we’ll be just fine.

This is the beginning of a beautiful relationship.

Harlem Fairway

Walking into Harlem’s Fairway supermarket, I couldn’t wipe the grin off my face. I love grocery shopping. It is single-handedly the most calming thing for me on the planet. Fairway’s wide aisles, happy employees, and towering blocks of fairly priced organic food almost brought a tear to my eye. “This is near me“, I thought to myself, “even though I’m in Harlem!”

The Harlem Fairway is a kind of anomaly in Manhattan. It is huge, but not intimidating. “Urban yet suburban”, as the New Yorker states.

“Joseph Fedele, one of the four owners, who is upbeat despite recent zoning tangles with the Department of Buildings, said people with a half a million dollars come in and stand in line next to someone on welfare.”

The mix of classes and cultures at Harlem’s Fairway make it only more enjoyable. Not only can I find organic peanut butter, but I also found regular shampoo and normal deodorant (fuck you, Tom’s of Maine!).

But, the best part about Fairway is the fact that all of their produce is local. That means cheaper food thanks to lower distributing costs, which means less pollution from transporting goods from organic farms in the midwest, which means a BETTER PLANET OVER ALL.

I’m not trying to trick you into leaving Whole Foods. The organic food movement has seriously helped revive America’s consciousness towards what its citizens eat. But when faced with organic vs. local, I always choose the latter. Sure, those locally grown peaches may have pesticides, but as Nina Planck, author of “Real Food” claims in an interview on diet detective.com,

“If you can afford it, spend more money on foods high up the food chain. So, in our house, we spend more on grass-fed and pastured meat and dairy and eggs, and on wild seafood. Ideally, these foods should also be free of hormones and antibiotics. We buy local fruit and vegetables because we love them and are lucky to get them near us in New York City.”

So remember my food enthusiasts, local produce is, in the long run, better. It’s places like Fairway and the Greenmarket that are helping revive old-style farming methods and the 21st Century’s “Back to the Earth” approach.

If you’re ever in need of an inexpensive but healthy alternative to Whole Paycheck, check out my new boyfriend. Not only is he a cheap date, but he’ll even give you a jacket when you walk into the meat-lockers. Now that’s what I call a grocery store.

Entry filed under: Olivia, The Eat Sheet. Tags: , , , , .

Garage: Best Meal of My Life A Life Less Ordinary: Why the Fuck Haven’t I Heard of You Before?!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NeeKaps  |  June 3, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    I actually thought you met a guy at first and I was really excited.

    Reply
  • 2. The Silly Addiction  |  June 4, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I guess the only exception to the “eat wild seafood” thing is something like cod, where wild stocks have been fished almost to exctinction. This is creating the odd situation in England where conscientious people are clamouring to pay more for farmed cod, even though it’s nowhere near as tasty.

    Reply
  • 3. parkrangerolivia  |  June 4, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Oh man, I remember reading that book “Cod”. you silly english just love your fish and chips!! How about some nice haddock? huh??

    Reply
  • 4. Tim Cameron  |  June 8, 2008 at 5:17 am

    BLASPHEMY

    Most chippies do offer haddock too, but cod has a peculiar aura of reverence surrounding it, despite it tasting exactly the same as twenty-six thousand other white fish.

    They should start doing Vietnamese River Cobbler And Chips. I’d love to hear the lager louts trying to pronounce that one after ten pints.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

