Shortchanged: Karma Plugs

May 20, 2008 at 2:24 am 8 comments

So here it is: Shameless plugs for all the coffee shops that let me get away with being short a couple dimes, quarters, and sometimes dollars (!).

HAHAHA. oh Google!

First up: That Cute Deli Next to Oren’s
After some serious googling, I think the address is 29 Waverly Place. Whatever. It’s the deli right next to Oren’s Daily Roast that you go to when the line at Oren’s is so long. During the breaks in my Spanish Mystics class (more on that later), I would always go down there to get some Honest Tea. I remember once I was getting a hot tea from the counter, when I found myself 20 cents short. “Don’t worry about it!” The kind Indian man behind the counter said. “I’m sorry! I’ll get you back next time! I don’t know what I was thinking…It must be these finals.” “Is no problem!” he said. “Drink cold water before your exams!” his wife chimed in. Every time I go there they make my heart burst, they’re so nice. I promptly paid them back the next time I was there.

Next tale of cash woe is at Bliss Cafe in Williamsburg.

Blisss

I was meeting a friend in Greenpoint for a serious Top Chef viewing when I decided that Chocolate Chip cookies were, at that precise moment, essential. I hightailed it to this cafe after I asked someone on the street where I could get some good cookies. “They’re vegan,” they responded, “but they’re delicious.” Oh silly Williamsburg, when will you learn? I stomped over in the cold rain, my hair curling and my tongue crying for chocolate goods. However, when it came time to pay, I realized I was once again, 20 cents short. God damn you Brooklyn and your pricey pastries! ($4.50 for 2 big cookies). “Ugh, I’m sorry, I’m 20 cents short.” “Don’t worry about it!” The nice girl/waif/model behind the counter said. “Thanks, it’s been a long day.”

That was last Wednesday. I repaid them last Saturday.

The final offender is what I’m SURE has been the reason for my currently awful karma. It is none other than Porto Rico Coffee.

Before I was diagnosed with the stupidest disease ever, I used to be something of a coffee connosieur, if you will. Thanks to my condition, I have to settle for one cup a week, and it’s a cafe au lait at that.

I remember once I was there as someone in line behind me finished a conversation on his cell-phone, saying “but that’s dishonest!”. I was next, and the barista behind the counter suddenly stopped what he was doing as his eyes glazed over with a faraway look. “But isn’t everything dishonest?” he asked, to no one in particular.

I made some weird, commiserative chuckling sound as the other girl behind the counter took my order. “What?” she asked, “Nothing. Your co-worker. He just looks so sad.” I got ready to pay for my drink when she told me it was on the house. “You sure?” I asked. She looked at her poor friend as she rung up someone else’s drink. “I’m sure.”

I totally forgot to tip her.

The next time was last Tuesday when I was jonesing for a cup even though I’d already had one that week. I walked in at 7 pm and asked for a hot coffee. “I’m sorry” another girl behind the counter said. “Bar service stops at 4.” “Shit!” I replied. She looked at her co-worker, startled. I clearly wanted my coffee. “We have iced…coffee…though…?” “Yes!” I said, “Yes, I’ll have that.”
Once again, when it was time to pay, I was a dollar short.
“Don’t worry about it!” the girl said. I was already twitching from my first sip. “Thanks. I just really needed a good coffee.” I walked out the door, obviously cracked out of my mind. Caffeine does that to me.

I really need to get my shit together, I know. But I am just waiting for the day when credit cards will be accepted regardless of a minimum, everywhere, and probably have our driver’s license/school ID/homo sapien identification tag on them. But until then, I will have to rely on the kindness of strangers.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Musings, Olivia. Tags: , , , .

Comic Shop: Watchmen by Alan Moore Elephant and Castle

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alisaurus  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:42 am

    love this post!! niceness in new york should be appreciated and noted more often.

    Reply
  • 2. neekaps  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    As a person who drinks more coffee than water
    Here’s my advice:
    never buy french mocha java from porto rican coffee company. Its bitter and tastes like the street.
    You’re lucky if the hipster with the jet black hair services you. The gay guy who works the coffee bar in the morning is pissy.

    Orens has the best espresso
    Porto Rican coffee on thompson in Soho has the best espresso machiato and a really cute 2 man team (1 man, one woman staff). I used to have like 2 a day when I photo assisted.

    Don’t go to Aroma on Houston; it sucks and is way too expensive.
    The best street coffee is the mud truck near christopher street
    and
    the best iced coffee is dunkin doughnuts

    If you’re a sinner and are going for the cancer, you have the McDonald’s Iced Hazelnut Coffee.

    best before school coffee- the truck outside of tisch

    best cappuccino offee- Bruno’s on Bleecker street.

    Starbucks iced coffee isn’t bad either.

    And I have my gripes about Joe’s coffee near GAY street.

    Reply
  • 3. alisaurus  |  May 21, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    katie you should make a whole post about this (coffee places)

    Reply
  • 4. alisaurus  |  May 23, 2008 at 10:08 am

    everytime i come to this post and read the headline and then see the accompanying picture, i think it’s about some weird sex toy “karma plugs”?! haha.

    Reply
  • 5. parkrangerolivia  |  May 23, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    get your mind out of the gutter, grasso.

    Reply
  • 6. bettytron  |  May 23, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    To be fair, it wouldn’t be totally out of line given some of your other popular posts.

    Reply
  • 7. NeeKaps  |  May 23, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Hey Alison- I actually second that. I think sex toy too.
    My next post is going to be able the history of the tampon, pad dispenser machine and why they never work..

    Reply
  • 8. jhon  |  July 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    nice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

