Can Opening = Tip?

May 12, 2008 at 10:49 am 4 comments

I was recently at the Blue & Gold Tavern this weekend, where I ordered a PBR. This consisted of the bartender opening the can, and then handing it to me. I didn’t tip for this drink, because after all, it’s a $3 can. Tip for the Ketel One I ordered prior? Yes. That requires skill.

PBR

I came back for another can shortly afterwards, and the bartender asks,
“Are you going to tip?”
“Excuse me? Did you even serve me last time?
“My coworker says you didn’t tip her.”

Maybe it’s because I’m underage, and the bartender knew it. Like she and the bouncer have a special code. But I grudgingly handed her a $5 for a $3 beer. “Keep the change”, I barked, getting back to my game of Connect Four.

But still, I am baffled about this incident. Do shitty drinks warrant the same tips as classy ones??

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Musings, Olivia. Tags: , .

Toilet Abuse Indian Taj

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alisaurus  |  May 12, 2008 at 11:32 am

    that’s bullshit. tipping is optional in every instance, and if you choose not to tip, they shouldn’t have said anything about it. that’s so freakin’ rude. especially considering they just handed you an open can. i wouldnt go back if that happened to me.

    Reply
  • 2. neekaps  |  May 12, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    you’re still mad about this huh?

    Reply
  • 3. parkrangerolivia  |  May 12, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    hell yes i am! it was mad irksome. awkward instances can boil my brain for days on end.

    Reply
  • 4. Jones  |  May 13, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    just order three cans and leave a 10. this is a battle you can’t win if you purchase with good sense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!

IMG_0182.JPG

Jeff Koons @ the Met

This Seems Indecent.

IMG_0249.JPG

Mad art direction skillz

Das Kondom- Carlos' Room

Wes Anderson taking speed before his geography midterm

Graffiti

More Photos

