Australian Homemade: Damn, $5??

May 6, 2008 at 1:23 am 1 comment

Remember when ice cream was $.75 during “break” at your local swimming pool? I soon realized those days were long gone when a sudden mint-chocolate-chip icecream attack hit me last Sunday. However, instead of going to Sundaes & Cones, I decided to take a walk on the wild side and check out Australian Homemade.

Located just off Tompkins Sq. Park on St. Mark’s, this breezy store also boasts an array of artesanal chocolates, ceramic ware, and “The Best Milkshake in NYC!”. I always try to sample something new before the inevitable mint chocolate chip, so I asked for a spoon of their chocolate chip with caramel. Maybe it was because I was craving it so much, but did this flavor also…have…mint? I took another nibble, and yes, unfortunately, there was an unadvertised ghostly herb floating in their batch.

I quickly asked for a sugar cone of MCC. Thank goodness it was the white kind, as lime green variations freak me out. It was definitely creamier than the other icecreams I’m used to. I suspect they use about 18% butterfat, which is a shame, since I think it just weighed the flavor down. The mint was there in a nice amount, although the chocolate was somewhat lacking. When your tongue did happen upon a chocolate piece, it was a slab of high quality 70% plus dark, which was a nice, though rare surprise overall.

Considering Sundaes and Cones is a couple avenues away, I’d say keep your $5 and make the trek. Australian Homemade has only about 10 flavors, and for that price, you can get a better deal somewhere else. Like your neighborhood bodega, for a tub of B&J.

Australian Homemade
115 Saint Marks Pl.
NY, NY, 10009
(212) 228-5439

Sundaes & Cones
95 E 10th St
New York, NY 10003
(212) 979-9398

Entry filed under: Olivia, The Eat Sheet. Tags: .

Celeb Sighting: Dale Talde from Top Chef The First Good Music Video I’ve Seen in a While

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. alisaurus  |  May 7, 2008 at 12:44 am

    there’s an australian homemade on 8th street now too, right across from cantor

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Googly-Eyes on Flickr!


